APLAR Young Rheumatologists

APLAR Young Rheumatologists (AYR) group was first conceptualized in 2016. Member National Organisations (MNOs) of APLAR had since supported by nominating AYR representatives to participate as working group members. Currently, the AYR working group is represented by 23 MNOs. The first meeting of the working group was held in October 2017 during the APLAR Congress in Dubai.

The first AYR Board was appointed in June 2018 and consists of 9 members:

Chairman Dr Yew Kuang Cheng (Singapore)
Vice-Chairman Prof Yukinori Okada (Japan)
Dr Jiuliang Zhao (China)
Secretary Dr Babur Salim (Pakistan)
Treasurer Dr Geraldine Zamora (Philippines)
Education Co-Chairperson Dr Ghita Harifi (UAE)
Dr Priscilla Wong (Hong Kong)
Webmaster Dr Himantha Atukorale (Sri Lanka)
Dr Padmanabha Shenoy (India)



The purpose of AYR is to provide a conductive and nurturing environment within APLAR for young rheumatologists to network and collaborate in education, research and social activities. It also aims to encourage active participation in all activities of APLAR, to identify and nurture future leaders of APLAR.