The Asia Pacific League of Associations for Rheumatology (APLAR) invites applications from physicians from APLAR member societies for its APLAR Community Oriented Program for Control of Rheumatic Diseases (COPCORD) research grant. Two (2) grants of up to USD 14,000 will be awarded to doctors striving to study rheumatic disease in the community.
The aims of the grant are to give the researcher an opportunity to study rheumatic disease in the community of their own country of residence. This grant is to be used for consumables required for the research and not for salaries or fixed costs. It is expected that the research will be completed within one (1) year of the onset.

All successful awardees are required to submit a full report to the APLAR Executive Committee upon the completion of their research. Additionally, they are required to submit data from the work carried out for presentation at a subsequent APLAR Congress, and for publication as a full scientific article in an international peer-reviewed journal, preferably the International Journal of the Rheumatic Diseases. An acknowledgement of the APLAR grant must be included in the manuscript. If the applicant fails to submit a report and a full scientific article for publication within six (6) months of completion of the research project, the APLAR Executive committee will not accept further grant applications from applicants of the same country for a further one (1) year. An email and hard copy letter will also be sent to the Head of the Department where the applicant works and also to the President of the applicant’s national rheumatology society.

Applicants should demonstrate that how their research will impact improvements in rheumatology care in their community. Only complete applications with the correct supporting documents will be accepted. The decision of the APLAR Executive Committee on the award of these grants is final.

For more information on COPCORD please visit

The offer is valid only for:

  • Nationals of countries who are members of APLAR (clear of arrears for membership dues)

The following documents should be enclosed with the application:

  • A curriculum vitae with a recent 2×2 inch photograph.
  • A reference of good standing from the Dean of the candidate’s medical school / university.
  • A summary of the project with the significance of the expected results in the context of current knowledge (maximum 500 words).
  • A grant proposal of the project detailing the background, aims, methodology (using the COPCORD questionnaire) and expected results.
  • Ethics Committee approval of the study (if applicable).
  • A budget with a timeline of the research project.


Disbursement of Funds

At the start of the project, USD 5,000 will be transferred to the investigator’s account, preferably their University’s research account. But if that would incur an administrative charge, then the investigator can request to use their personal account.

Following the first transfer, the investigator will be required to provide receipts for the expenditure as the project progresses. If any individual item costs are more than USD 1,000, then 3 separate quotations are required, and the cheapest quotation will usually be accepted. Once the expenditure has exceeded the first USD 5,000, there can be 2 further disbursements at Month 3 and Month 6, depending on the proposed budget, supported by receipts, of up to USD 4,000 each.

The last USD 1,000 will be transferred once the completed research report and the final draft of the manuscript of the research project been received by the APLAR Executive Committee. In addition, awardees should submit their work for publication in an international peer-reviewed journal, preferably to the International Journal of the Rheumatic Diseases.

The APLAR Executive Committee reserves the right to adjust the amount of grant awarded depending on the proposed budget expenditure. Any such decision taken by the APLAR Executive Committee is final.


2017 2018
Centre for Rheumatic Diseases
Hermes Doctors House, Hermes Elegance
Dr Arvind Chopra
Prof Asma A Rahim
Dr Ashish J Mathew
Dr Hung Nguyen
Dr Muhammad Ahmed Saeed